On November 2009, I received a call from my dad in the middle of a busy work day. I immediately answered the phone as I knew it was something important; he rarely makes a call. After hearing what he had to say, I was dismayed and found myself asking, “Then who could be the donor?”

My mother has an End-Stage Renal Disease or what is most commonly known as kidney failure. Until now, we are looking for a kidney donor that could help save her life.

Three years ago, she was diagnosed to have an acute bilateral hydronephrosis – a renal disease where kidney stones block the passage way for water and body wastes. After two major surgeries, the stones were removed and life became partially normal again for her.

Last year, the same symptoms happened again. The pain was excruciating that she could not stand or walk, her ureter is shrinking and water could not possibly flow out. After an endoscopy procedure, the problem gradually disappeared but a catheter had to stay inside her for 3 months.

Late this year, her laboratory tests showed that her creatinine level is already over 1000. It only means one thing – her kidneys already failed. The doctor called for an immediate dialysis. It has been only 2 months since then but she already went to 16 dialysis sessions.

Dialysis is not really a remedy but a temporary workaround for kidney failure. The long-term cure is a kidney transplant. But in order for this to happen, we need a million pesos and a kidney donor. We already applied for a transplant subsidy from a non-profitable organization and if God permits, she will be doing the transplant early next year. As for the donor, my father volunteered himself.

During the call, my dad told me, “I cannot move to the next level of test. I am not a good kidney-match to your mother as my kidneys are also slightly damaged. This is what the doctors said.”

Then who could be the match? Who could donate a kidney for my ill mother?

Until now, it is still a question. We are still searching for possible donors and currently, we only had one volunteer.

Looking for people who are willing to lose and donate one kidney is very difficult. My family and relatives are willing but you can’t help but sense a little apprehension. The doctors say that we only need one kidney to live. So I asked myself, why then did God give us two kidneys? Without thinking twice, I found the answer -

So that we can donate the other one and save someone’s life.

